Pants in a Week 1

My 7 yr old refused to pose for me with his new pants on even though he really loves them. I am not going to force him to pose my blog, I am o.k . with that. This time. LOL.

IMG_1967

So here they are. They are pretty simple, but that’s the plan, to just keep it simple, and get them done, one right after another.

These pants are made from a heavy brown polar fleece. My boys love polar fleece so I started with that because I needed the chance of the kid liking the home made pants to be high.

IMG_1970

Because the fabric is very heavy, and I wanted the pockets in the side seams to lay flat, I chose to use a contrasting thin fabric, in this case, a scrap of plaid flannel.

IMG_1968

 

It was important to me that he put them on forward, as there is no fly, or rear seat pockets so I added a button so he would know what side was front. This also helps to keep the pockets flat, if he doesn’t put his pants on backwards.  Again I used a different fabric(bias tape) for the waistband, because I was worried about how think a waistband made from several layers of polar fleece would lay against his skin and bone structure. My 7 year old is SO skinny, that’s 90% of why I am sewing pants from scratch to begin with. It is an elastic waistband all the way around. He says the waistband is a perfect fit, not too tight, not falling off.

IMG_1969

 

This is a picture of the top stitching on the pocket opening because I am very proud of it and then how the tops stitched side pocket fit into the side seam. The pants ended up being almost too short. I did a very narrow hem with two rows of top stitching. You can see from the bum in this picture, that these pants are actually quite wide too. Next pair for this kid I am going to narrow the entire leg pieces for a better fit for his skinny self.

Leave a Reply

