Take a Chance on Pants

I have a lot of fabric. That is an understatement. I have no where to store most of it properly at the moment. And I am 7 months pregnant with my 4th child. I already gave away a lot of my fabric once in my life, when I believed I had replaced sewing with scrap booking as a hobby. Then I started working at the fabric store again, and at first I was very very good. All my pay cheques went to gas, cell phone, and paying down the VISA. And then, of course, a few months in, I cracked. The hoarding due to ridiculously good deals began anew.

So, at the moment, the fabric situation in the basement laundry room area is pretty much knee deep. Even if that IS an exaggeration, I can’t actually see the floor. Anywhere there.

The best part is that my Mother In Law arrives in about 8 weeks to help with the new baby. All I have to do is look around the laundry room and I can feel the anxiety mounting. She doesn’t understand this part of me AT ALL.  My husband doesn’t either, but he has a den all to himself, so he leaves me alone about the hoarding in the basement situation for the most part.

I  have three boys, and myself to clothe. In the last year or so, two out of three of my boys have gotten very very picky over PANTS. Issues abound every morning when attempting to get them dressed for school, issues of comfort, issues of too loose, too tight. Too short. Too long.

So,here we go. Pants, especially sporty type pants with elastic waistbands, are NOT particularly difficult to sew…. I could fit them at each step of the way, for length, for too wide, for too long in the waist to crotch seam. I can make each waistband (elastic) exactly the right tightness.

Next, my brilliantly creative, (and OCD) mind came up with a plan to evolve hoards of fabric into useful pants for small, medium and large boys, and me too. Won’t this make my husband and my Mother In Law happy? They will actually be able to see process into the cleaning up of the basement mess.

Monday – cut out pants pattern. Tuesday – sew on all pockets. Wednesday – sew main side seam and crotch seams. Thursday – waistband. Friday – hem. In this way, I would produce a new pair of pants, whether they are simple dress pants, track pants, or jammie pants, every single week. A new piece of fabric gone from my stash every single week. And, at this “easy -few -steps -a -day” rate, I should be able to sew for about an hour, while kids are in school, and hubby is at work, and STILL get lots of housework done! Especially since I have discovered that sewing in the mornings after my cup of coffee energizes me to get going and get things done. I was SEW excited!

What could go wrong? Well, the FIRST week the pants went together like a house on fire…sigh. Stay tuned for more photos and updates.

Leave a Reply

