image

I would really like it if I could never see this blankie again. It just fought me every single step of construction the whole way. I learned so much though. I promised this quilt mini as it is now to my middle son. It was originally supposed to be big enough for his twin bed but I ran out of too many of the original fabrics to go on. So I just finished it off and it’s a done project now.

I could have thrown it out a long time ago I guess, but patchwork squares is so much work, I was too head strong to quit. I was trying to choose a pattern that was very masculine, something outside my comfort zone, and I will never do that again. I will stick with colours and fabrics that “feel” right. Isn’t that what sewing is all about anyway?

image image image

 

image image image

The good news is that I was able to use scraps from my creation station for the backing. The plaid is actually the NOVA SCOTIA plaid. I bought it there a long time ago, to make a wrap around towel for my husband. It IS polar fleece. That was a long time ago in our life, and a long time ago in how ambitious I was with sewing ideas and projects…

I hope that someday I can love this little blanket for all that it taught me, as I am guessing it’s going to be around here for a while as I am giving it to a seven year old son…

 

Leave a Reply

